and she’s OFF!!

I did it – I finally started my attempt to bike the distance of the 2007 Tour de France last night. I did 12.2 kilometers on the trainer in the living room. I have attached photographic proof as well. There was a university cycling race on one of the new channels we get, so I biked along with them for a while. I’m very out of shape though, there was lots of concern in D’s face at a few points, he thought I was overdoing it.

According to the official 2007 Tour de France webpage, I’m done the 8 km prologue around London and I’m 4.2 kilometers from London heading towards Canterbury. I’ll have to find a more exact routemap somewhere and start marking it out with pins.

D just walked in and pointed out that I didn’t even cheat – my trainer has resistance that increases with the speed I travel, and my average speed wasn’t really low, so I really was pushing some resistance. On his, he could drop the resistance to nothing and fly through the kilometers.

Hopefully I can get set up in the basement for future rides as it was REALLY HOT in the living room. This picture was taken really early on – I lost a few more articles of clothing before I was done. Pardon the mess – funny how you don’t really notice it until it’s in a picture! I did crop lots of it out. The spray bottle was for D to deter kittens from entering the rear wheel while it was spinning.

beth on bike