no pictures today

I had taken a few pictures today to show my knittyboard SP8, but I can’t upload them. D thinks the cable that connects the camera to the computer is messed. We’ll have to find out, but we’re not going to tonight. There’s a snowstorm in town! The local school board has already cancelled school for tomorrow, so I have hopes that the university might close as well.

What was I going to show you? The snow on the tree in front of our front window and on the front walk. I’d been home for an hour and my footprints were gone. All in all, we are expecting at least a foot tonight, but since we’re close to the lake, that might be over 50cms.

I also have a picture of the sock I finished for D on the weekend. It’s from http://www.ramwools.com, the supersoxx surprise 4. It’s a self-striping blue and it turned out well. I found the missing bamboo needle that one of the 4 legged members of the household hid, so progress might be made tonight during House.

This weekend, I went to Ellicottville to go snowboarding with my family. It wasn’t the usual40 person raucous bunch – we were 9 including a friend of my youngest cousin. We stopped at a Walmart on the way home to get some peaches and creme yarn to make the Baby Kimono from Mason Dixon Knitting – but I only purchased one ball in each of 3 colours combos and the kimono needs 2 balls each. Anyone know how to get 1 ball each of Daisy Ombre, Faded Denim and Sea Mist in Canada? I did find one store and e-mail them, so we’ll see what happens.

I really love the log cabin bed sized blanket in the Mason-Dixon book, but that would be a significant project – maybe once I settle in a bit more and have fewer pregnant friends to knit for.

What else… I did a few more Kilometers last night one the bike. They don’t go as fast in the house as actually out on the road. I did another 30 minutes and I think it was only 10 kilometers. That’s going to take a long time to get around France. On the thesis front I had a talk with the department head today and he says to just get it done and in. It doesn’t have to be pretty.

OK, off to get ready to watch House. Wonder what’s going to happen tonight.